List-o-mania

I’m not sure where it comes from, because I don’t think anyone else in my immediate family suffers from this like I do.  Perhaps another reason to suspect the stork dropped me off at the wrong house, but that is another subject for another day.  Back to my near-manic obsession to categorize and list things.

This has come to light because of my recent work compiling and updating my Reading Lists.  As I combed through the reading lists I knew there should be more books on some of the lists and the problem became how do I recall the lost ones.  The answer: make a list of my favorite authors and then from that list make lists of the books they have written so I can check which have been recorded and which have not.  There was a little anxiety there because even if I recall that I have read the book, I know I can’t recall what year I read the book.  So after a couple of little sit-down discussions with myself I realized that I could deal with having a list of books categorized by the decade in which they had been read, such as the 1980s and 1990s.  Imperfect, but I can now cope with that.

So now, you see the problem I am faced with – one list branches off and creates an unending amount of other lists that must be created to support and finish the first one.  And that is just the list of books already read, there also exists lists of books I want to read in the future.  Is that one I have had my eye on a part of a series?  If so, is it book 1 or book 2?  How will I know?  I’ve got it – I’ll make a list.  For some reason, there is a part of me (perhaps an English major’s curse) that is curious to know how many Pulitzer Prize winning books I have read in my life. You can see where this is going – another list.

And all this is just the tip of the iceberg.  So far I’ve only mentioned books, of course I also own CDs, DVDs, PlayStation games, baseball cards, football cards, all in different stages of cataloging.

Time to sign off now – I need to go make a list of all the lists I need to make.

Leave a Reply

