Greeting a New Year

I’m sure like many others, I have a love/hate relationship with the idea of making New Year’s Resolutions.  Yes, there is something exciting and fresh about starting anew with a clean slate.  However, along with that comes a lot of pressure and expectation to fulfill the promises you laid out for yourself.  So, with that being said here are my resolutions for 2010:

I resolve to not beat myself up over my mistakes and failures of the previous year.  They are now over and done with and I must move forward.  I will instead only beat myself up over my mistakes and failures of 2010 as the year progresses.  (Hey, if I pretend I’m going to succeed in everything then I’m lying to myself and I don’t think I should start the year off with a lie.)

I resolve to quit yelling, screaming, and cursing at the television set when there is a lying politician and/or a so-called journalist asking idiotic questions.  I will instead calmly change the channel.  I do this if not for the sake of my blood pressure, at least for the sake of my dog’s sanity.  (I’m sorry Rusty, I know I am hard to live with sometimes.)

I resolve to know less about Jon & Kate, Tiger’s mistresses, Sanford’s Argentina lover, and anything else about any celebrity whose actions have no direct bearing on my day to day life.  (Of course, combined with the previous resolution it looks like I might as well resolve to turn the television off completely.)

I resove to send at least one e-mail a week to a Senator or House Member (either federal or state) to voice my opinion on certain matters.  This should be a more constructive and healthy exercise than the afore-mentioned screaming and cursing.

I resolve to spend as many mornings  with a cup of coffee and evenings with a glass of wine as possible relaxing on my new front porch reading a good book or watching the deer and antelope play.  (Okay, maybe just the deer – haven’t seen many antelope here in Cat Square lately.)

I resolve to spend less time wishing I was a writer and more time actually writing.  I’ll never get anything published if I keep it all in my head.  And if I could, I know  none of us want my thoughts to be published unedited and uncensored.

I resolve to spend more time in bible study and prayer.  I have struggled more in school since back-tracking from my plans to go into the ministry and am not sure if the two are directly related or not.  However, if God is still calling me in that direction then He and I have some serious discussions ahead to hash some things out.  It’s not that I have anything against Him directly, but I do have many issues with what is being said and done His name by many church institutions.  If He does want me serving as a mouthpiece for Him and His Word, then I need to work with him to resolve many of my own questions, and He needs to greatly empower and strengthen this weak vessel.

I resolve to tell my loved ones how much I love them as often as I can.  Having worked in the Emergency Department these many years, I know all too well that sometimes that last time you told someone goodbye could very well be the  last goodbye.

Here’s wishing you a Happy, Healthy, and Prosperous New Year !!!!

Leave a Reply

