Seeing is Not Always Believing

Several months ago after I got off work at 1:00 in the morning, I went by my parent’s house to pick up Rusty, my dog.  He stays with his grandparents while I’m at work so he won’t be lonely.  As I approached the porch, I looked up and around to gaze at the night-time sky.  Rising from the horizon in all areas except from the west was a thick layer of clouds that obscured any view of the stars.  The small clear point on the western horizon stretched upward and outward creating a pie-shaped area in the sky where everything was clear.  The full moon was situated right above my head and slightly to the edge of the pie shining through a thin wispy layer of clouds.  As I craned my neck backwards and stared straight at the moon I experienced an odd and disorienting experience.  The moon appeared to be racing across the sky at an incredible rate of speed. This optical illusion seemed so real that for a second I even began to lose my balance.  Everything within me knew that the moon was not moving that it was in fact the clouds.  But I had to forcefully remind myself to rely on what I knew and not what I thought I was seeing.  I had to depend on the knowledge I had acquired over the years to stay grounded.

In these times of economic, social, and political turmoil it is easy to lose our grounding in our faith.  Many look around and wonder if God is still around and still in control.  There are many valid reasons one could think this.  But, just like my experience that night we have to rely on our years of knowledge and experience and not be fooled by what we see around us.  We have to reach deep within and depend on the promises and the reassurances that God has given us over time.  In my case looking up to the sky caused my dis-orientation.  Yet, in regards to our spiritual needs not looking heavenward will cause our dis-orientation.

I lift up my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

Leave a Reply

